Loading...

How to Add and Remove Moodle Teachers and Course Managers

Teachers can do almost anything within a course, including adding or changing the activities and grading learners. By default, teachers can also assign a Non-editing teacher role and a Learner role to other users.  By default users are not assigned the role of Teacher throughout the site, but are only assigned (enrolled) as a teacher to a single course/class at a time. The same applies to learners. Teachers can only teach in the courses they have been enrolled in.

The Manager role allows a site Administrator to give very powerful roles to others who are assigned a Manager role, but without having to give them a full Administrator role.  They can access courses and modify them, as well as perform certain administrative level tasks related to courses, users, grade settings, etc.

Before you begin:

Required Knowledge: Moodle

Required Moodle Access: Admin

1

Adding a User as a Teacher in a Moodle Course
  1. As a manager or administrator, go to Administration > Course administration > Users > Enrolled users
  2. Click the Enrol users button at the top right or bottom left of the page
  3. From the Assign roles dropdown choose the teacher role
  4. Select enrolment options as appropriate
  5. Browse or search for the user
  6. Click the Enrol button opposite the user. The user will indent in the list and the enrol button will disappear, indicating that the user is enrolled.
  7. When you have finished, click the Finish enrolling users button (or simply close the enrol users box)

The user will then appear in the list of enrolled users and will no longer be available in the search list.

2

Changing Teacher Permissions

If you really need to change the default Teacher role:

  1. Go to Administration > Site administration > Users > Permissions > Define roles
  2. In the right pane you will see Manage Roles with a list of user roles. To the right of the teacher description, click on the edit icon.
  3. From the Editing role ‘Teacher’ page you can change what a teacher can or cannot do by checking or unchecking the Allow check-boxes under Capability/Permission.

Note

  • Only give the teacher permissions that are necessary or appropriate. To the right of many of the Allow check boxes are colored triangles the notify you of possible security warnings for each choice. Use those warnings to help you decide which permissions you will or won’t give to your teachers.
  • If you need to modify the Teacher role significantly, it is advisable to create a new role rather than editing the default teacher role.

3

Assigning the role of Managers at the Site Level

You can give someone the Manager role sitewide (to enable them for instance to add new users)

  1. Go to Site Administration > Users > Permissions > Assign system roles
  2. Select the Manager role and move over your chosen user

When you do so, users in that role will have access to only some of the items in Site administration. They do not have access to areas such as Security, Server, Plugins, Appearance, or Advanced Features, which are reserved for those in the Site administrators group. They have access to most of the tools for User, Course and Grade system settings and tools.

4

Assigning the Role of Manager at the Category Level

The Manager role can also be assigned in the context Category rather than sitewide.

Do this if you want someone to be able to have access to all the courses in a single category and manage them, but do not want them to have access to any of Site administration tools.

  1. Go to Site administration > Courses > Add/edit courses
  2. Select a category > Edit this category
  3. In Administration block: Assign roles > Manager > (select user) Add

Note:

Managers must Turn Editing On in order to have Edit category and Add category links.

5

Remove a Role Assignment
  1. Go to Course Administration > Users > Enrolled Users
  2. Search by name if necessary
  3. Click the X button next to the role name to remove the role assignment
  1. Under Site Administration > Courses > Add/edit courses  click the course category name
  2. In the side navigation, Assign roles
  3. Click Manager or Course Creator
  4. (Search by name if necessary, using the search box under the right hand side list of names)
  5. Click the name to highlight it. Use Shift or CTRL keys to highlight more than one at a time
  6. Click the Remove button

Note

Requires Administration User Level

  1. Under Site Administration > Users > Permissions > Assign system roles, click Manager or Course Creator
  2. (Search by name if necessary, using the search box under the right hand side list of names)
  3. Click the name to highlight it. Use Shift or CTRL keys to highlight more than one at a time
  4. Click the Remove button

Was this Resource helpful?